I’ve recently been getting quite a few people asking me if I’d sell them a stove.  So I decided I’d start selling them.  Right now I can only ship in the US.  If you’re interested in purchasing one of these hand made mini-pocket alcohol stoves, send me an email at patricksbushcraft@gmail.com……………………………………………………………..

DIY-I took a cheap aluminum flashlight and converted into a highly efficient mini micro ultra light pocket alcohol stove-Easily EDC this on a keychain or your pocket

Over the past 10 years alcohol stoves have greatly increased in popularity. I have made a few of my own, but never really used them regularly as a “go-to” quick stove… until now…
Over the years I’ve watched the penny stoves, aluminium can stoves, cat food can stoves, etc, and I always thought the efficiency was never at its peak. I would watch the flame roll up the side of the cookpot and just burn into the air, thinking what a waste it was. The problem has always been the exposed surface area. When a metal container is filled with alcohol, methanol, etc, and is then lit on fire, it’s the surface area of the fuel that burns, nothing else. Image if you poured 1oz of fuel into a shallow bowl 6 inches in diameter and poured 1oz of the same fuel into a taller cylindrical container that was only 1 inch in diameter, which do you think would burn first? obviously the fuel in the shallow bowl will burn up faster.
So knowing this I made myself a mini micro stove by converting an aluminum flashlight ( 1″ in diameter, size of a quarter) into a container with a screw on cap. The old aluminum flashlight, that didn’t work anyways, was ideal for my intentions! This design will provide just the right amount of flame for the bottom of cookpots, billy cans, glacier cups, etc .
Any unused fuel can simply be left in the sealed container and used at a later time, so no fuel ever gets wasted.
This micro mini flashlight container stove is small and ultra lightweight, and it can be added to a keychain or survival chain, or I can carribeaner it somewhere onto a bug out bag or EDC pack or pouch… the possibilities.

I’m still amazed at how much more efficient this stove is compared to my old Starbucks can stove which had an exposed surface area of 2 1/8″. Now my fuel lasts 3-4 times longer. Should of done this a long time ago with the price of fuel currently at about $18/gal.
##########################
Notes:
*I have found that keeping the bottom of the cookpot 1/2 to 1 inch above the stove’s highest point is the ideal distance to keep the flame to metal transfer optimal. Also, I live in a desert environment, so I would expect this stove to be even more efficient going into cooler environments. High Altitudes and extreme cold still remains to be tested.

*When a windscreen is necessary, it is important not to enclose it too close to the stove/cookpot, so as not to create an temperature increased enclosure, causing the fuel to burn faster.

Some Data:
Silver container height (no cap on) :2 3/8″
full capacity : 3/4 once (to bottom of threads)
… still in testing

Red container height 1″ (no cap on):
full capacity : approx 1/4 oz ( ml)
total burn time of full container :13 min (with Stanley SS cookpot and 1 cup of water inside)
boil time : 7-8 min (with Stanley SS cookpot and 1 cup of water inside, Heineken Pot is better)
1 full container of fuel can be used to heat 2.5 cups of water at separate times (just hot, not boiling) , which can of course be used to make 2.5 cups of coffee/tea

*stoves are equivalent to a US quarter in diameter

8 thoughts on “I converted a small flashlight into an Ultra Light Mini Micro Alcohol Pocket/Keychain Stove

    1. I’ve recently been getting quite a few people asking me if I’d sell them one of my mini-pocket alcohol stoves. So I decided I’d start selling them. Right now I can only ship in the US. If you’re interested in purchasing one of these hand made mini-pocket alcohol stoves, send me an email at patricksbushcraft@gmail.com…………………….

      Take care,
      Patrick

      Like

Leave a Reply

